The Eleventh Hour Series is comprised of hour-long presentations at 11:00 a.m. each weekday of the Festival. The series features issues of special interest to writers, including aspects of craft, process, the writing life, and publishing. Past topics have included “Talking It Out: Writing As Conversation,” “Creative Nonfiction for the Visual Learner,” and “How Poets See the World: The Art of Description.”

The Eleventh Hour features a different presenter each day; specific descriptions are posted on our website in spring. Fridays in The Eleventh Hour are reserved for a Festival faculty reading. The Eleventh Hour is free and open to the public as well as Festival participants.

To listen to podcasts of past lectures, visit The Writing University at http://www.writinguniversity.org/vwu-podcast.

Monday, June 19, 2017 - 11:00am
Jeffery Renard Allen
Phillips Hall
Tuesday, June 20, 2017 - 11:00am
Lauren Haldeman
Phillips Hall
Wednesday, June 21, 2017 - 11:00am
Solera Quartet
Iowa City Public Library
Thursday, June 22, 2017 - 11:00am
Jim Heynen
Phillips Hall
Friday, June 23, 2017 - 11:00am
Iowa Summer Writing Festival Faculty
Phillips Hall
Monday, June 26, 2017 - 11:00am
Lon Otto
Phillips Hall
Tuesday, June 27, 2017 - 11:00am
Juliet Patterson
Phillips Hall
Wednesday, June 28, 2017 - 11:00am
Kelly Dwyer
Phillips Hall
Thursday, June 29, 2017 - 11:00am
Sarah Saffian
Phillips Hall
Friday, June 30, 2017 - 11:00am
Iowa Summer Writing Festival Faculty
Phillips Hall
Monday, July 10, 2017 - 11:00am
Garth Greenwell
Phillips Hall
Tuesday, July 11, 2017 - 11:00am
Sandra Scofield
Phillips Hall
Wednesday, July 12, 2017 - 11:00am
Michael Morse
Phillips Hall
Thursday, July 13, 2017 - 11:00am
Lan Samantha Chang
Phillips Hall
Friday, July 14, 2017 - 11:00am
Iowa Summer Writing Festival Faculty
Phillips Hall
Monday, July 17, 2017 - 11:00am
Sabrina Orah Mark
Phillips Hall
Tuesday, July 18, 2017 - 11:00am
Linda M. Bendorf
Phillips Hall
Wednesday, July 19, 2017 - 11:00am
Mary Allen
Phillips Hall
Thursday, July 20, 2017 - 11:00am
Hugh Ferrer
Phillips Hall
Friday, July 21, 2017 - 11:00am
Iowa Summer Writing Festival Faculty
Phillips Hall